First day of a Facebook-free life

I signed up for Facebook in 2005, during the early days when it just seemed so much fun to keep in touch with friends and document college experiences. But it stayed with me, documenting my after-college life: my first job, my wedding, the birth of my son, work etc.

All in all, Facebook quickly became part of my daily activities: waking up to it, checking endlessly for updates, letting my son play alone while I wrote a quick update, talking to my husband while checking my friend’s pictures, finding old friends, even taking pictures especially for posting them.

Today I am TIRED. Honestly, I really don’t think it’s all that important for me to know what my friends are eating, how great their lives are or seeing more-then-necessary pictures of their travels. Although nobody is forcing me to spend my time on Facebook, my curious nature is a sucker for information and I’m totally holding myself accountable for this situation.

So, today I am challenging myself to stay AWAY from Facebook for 30 days. As I will be documenting my journey on a weekly basis, my goal is to use this time to do the following:

  • listen to the noise: birds, traffic, people;
  • be present and authentic when interacting with people;
  • watching my son playing and dancing and not missing any precious second;
  • sleep more;
  • talk to people;
  • reflect and meditate;
  • read books.

After completing my challenge, I want to be able to go back, but moderately. My main goal is to keep my “curiosity” under control.

Wish me luck and stay tuned for updates! 🙂

Leave a Reply

