When life gives you lemons…

Life takes us so many places and we end up taking different directions. Some roads are bumpy, others are smooth, but in the end we arrive somewhere. An anonymous writer once said: “Life may not be the party we dreamed of, but while we’re here we should dance with it”.

Today I realize that I have danced my way through so many experiences: I failed, I’ve been embarrassed, I cried, I felt humiliated, but I have also laughed, experienced true love, contemplated with nature and life’s simple pleasures and felt victorious.

My journey has brought me to a place I want to freeze and never let go of. I was so blessed to find the love of my life  and be united with him in front of God. I was even luckier to grow the fruit of our love inside my womb. Our little boy changed us in ways we have never imagined and made us vulnerable and stronger, all at the same time. After his birth, the dreams of a bigger house, nicer cars and clothes, fancy title names and busy careers were such a thing of the past.

Being a mother, confirmed my womanhood in unexpected ways. It allowed me to be more connected to my body and awakened instincts of protection and unmeasurable love, which I never experienced at such intensity before.

Today I feel unstoppable and strong. I love my little family and they are more than I ever dreamed of. That’s why I chose to dance with them. I also chose to dance with the uncertainty of our future, with our flaws and mistakes. I chose to embrace the moments my heart raced through my chest, the sleepless nights, the moments of doubt, the decisions that turned out wrong. After all, it’s our journey and all that matters now is the beautiful music we dance to every day.

 

2 thoughts on “When life gives you lemons…

  1. Very nicely put 🙂 I guess we all have to handle these ‘lemons’ many times in our lives and it’s up to us how we take them on. It seems that you found the strength you need from your family and I think that’s very true for most of us. Whenever I’m having a bad day, a chat with my parents can always make me feel better. Sometimes I feel so in need of comfort that I imagine myself giving them a hug but then my 21-year-old ego will stand in my way. Nonetheless, I will still feel their love when they give me their advice and they probably know I’m not the type to voice out my love for them so they do what they can, as parents, for me. Your family can pull through any difficulty and I’m sure that you know that as well 🙂 Have a good day!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your geniune response, it means a lot to me that you could relate to my story. And yes, sometimes you need to sweeten the lemons with sugary hugs and kisses from loved ones, other times you take them straight and sour. Great day to you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

