On being 33

I recently celebrated my 33rd birthday and although I don’t really measure my life in year counts, this time around I felt something slightly different. In a weird way, I sort of feel like I’m halfway through life, I kinda feel like I’ve seen and experienced plenty of things that allow me to better understand the world. I feel old enough, mature enough, womanly enough, friendly enough and wholeheartedly enough. Bottom line, I feel enough.

At 33 I don’t seek to impress myself and others, I don’t seek to please others or raise myself to be worthy of their friendship or love. At 33, I am fierce and protective like a lioness, I am strong and forgiving, I am positive and ambitious. At 33, I believe that my life belongs to me and I assume my decisions. At 33, I am kinder to myself.

The highlight of turning 33 was to hear my little boy wish me “Bonne anniversaire, maman” and to celebrate another year together with my husband. I keep that moment close to my heart and each time I recall it, my body feels warmer, my heart is tingling and my lips smile uncontrollably.

Happy birthday to me! Thank you Universe for blessing my life in such wonderful ways.

 

Leave a Reply

