Flavors from home

While I was randomly looking through old pictures, I came across some souvenirs that I hold very close to my heart. About 4 years ago, I made a little project for some special ladies as a thank-you gift for participating in my wedding. Since I always loved cooking raw, simple, fresh foods, I decided to put together some recipes and personalize them. Today, I am sharing some of the pictures I used for my recipe book.

I love the summer season because we get to spend more time outside, we dress lighter, the sun kisses our face and everything around turns to color. These days, I really miss going to the local market in Bucharest, where you’re quickly surrounded by all sorts of juicy flavors and colors of green, yellow, red and orange. I miss eating Feta cheese and meaty tomatoes with fresh bread. And I miss indulging in juicy red cherries and velvety apricots. I miss the noise of the market and the simplicity of the people selling their produce. If you ever bought the smallest, spotted apples and you were pleasantly surprised by their heavenly taste, that’s exactly how you’d feel about walking into a Romanian food market. It doesn’t always look the best, but it tastes the greatest.

Love the vibrant colors and the freshness of their taste
Love the vibrant colors and the freshness of their taste
Cucumbers and tomatoes. Summer in a bowl.
Cucumbers and tomatoes. Summer in a bowl.
Salad for dinner: fresh and filling. Guilt-free.
Salad for dinner: fresh and filling. Guilt-free.
My favourite summer fruit: peaches. I can eat 10 at once...
My favourite summer fruit: peaches. I can eat 10 at once… 🙂

Let’s enjoy this summer and make the best out of it wherever we are!

2 thoughts on “Flavors from home

Leave a Reply

