2 weeks of meditation update

After learning about the benefits of meditation, I became curious and decided to incorporate it in my daily routine. Because I am one of those people who can’t sit still and my mind is constantly wondering, asking questions and analyzing, I was intrigued to see what meditation could do for me. And as I stated in my previous post, in an attempt to hold myself accountable, I decided to briefly share my journey here, in a bi-weekly summary.

meditation

The past 2 weeks have been pretty eventful and challenging. Some events were spontaneous and unexpected, others recurrent:

  • The terrorist attacks in Paris.
  • Changing schools for our little guy (I’ll tell you more in a future post).
  • Balancing work/life.
  • Not having time to workout (spending long hours seated).
  • Not having enough hours in a day to do everything I want to.
  • Having a hard time getting organized and motivated.

What I’ve experienced during and after guided meditation:

I have to be honest here: I didn’t meditate religiously every day for the past two weeks. There were days I felt the urge to do it because it helps me to relax and other days when I couldn’t find a quiet moment because I was either too tired or simply put, I just didn’t feel like it.

During meditation I felt an utterly sense of peace and connection which unfortunately lasted very little. I had many slip troughs – moments when the music sounded nice or the voice was calming, but my mind was racing – asking what’s the plan for tomorrow? or what’s for desert?

A major challenge I’m experiencing is breathing. I have a hard time connecting to my breath and using it to channel my emotions. When I take a deep breath, the energy stops somewhere and I have to grasp for another breath. Then my heart starts beating erratically and I even get light-headed. I also yawn a lot and get teary eyes. The great part is that I am more aware of my breathing and I am working on owning up to my emotions.

I also reintroduced Yoga and Pilates into my weekly routine. I try to practice 2-3 times a week and I noticed that it helps my breathing and flexibility. When I started working out in my early 20’s, I was mainly doing it to look good, whereas now I do it to embrace my inner self, which ultimately shows outside as well ( I feel more toned, more energetic).

Tools I have used:

  • The Chopra Centered Lifestyle website – just randomly reading different articles
  • Sarah Lazar – I find her research fascinating – she used neuroimaging techniques to study neurological, cognitive and emotional changes associated with the practice of meditation and yoga.
  • I searched “mindful meditation” on Pinterest and skimmed through, just to keep myself inspired.
  • I downloaded the Stop, Breathe & Think app and I use it for my daily guided meditation sessions. It’s free and convenient.
  • Went to the local library and spent some quiet time looking through books on subjects that interest me: art, psychology, sociology, society, etc.

In brief, this experience is quite challenging and I am looking forward to seeing what’s going to unfold in the following  2 weeks. Tune in for more updates! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “2 weeks of meditation update

Leave a Reply

