Personal development books

My name is Andra and I am a self-help junkie. I’ve been dealing with this addiction for many years now and I don’t see any signs of recovering.

When my friends were reading Wuthernig Heights or Les Miserables, I was discovering Dale Carnegie and Napoleon Hill. My indulgence in self-help books originated from a deep desire to understand myself, learn from success stories and pass over the knowledge.

Here’s a list of 5 books I consider worth sharing:

The Happiness Advantage by Shawn Achor – I am fascinated with his research. This book is addressed to everyone trying to excel in a world of increasing workloads, stress, and negativity. Some mind-blowing statistics I learnt: 25% of job successes are predicted by IQ, 75 percent of job successes are predicted by your optimism levels, your social support and your ability to see stress as a challenge instead of as a threat.

Emotional Intelligence by Daniel Goleman – this is not your typical self-help book. I discovered it in one of my Management classes and it touched me on a personal level. Emotional Intelligence (EQ) is backed up by research as a way to use emotional information to guide thinking and behavior.

How to stop worrying and start living by Dale Carnegie – what a classic! Timeless and concise, this was one of my first inspiration to get through college and pursue a healthy life.

The Power of Positive Thinking by Vincent Norman Pale – if you are not a religious person, you might want to skip this. It’s filled with interesting advice and can energize/motivate you to pursue your ambitions/goals. It’s a light read and quite awakening.

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne – this book is quite controversial. My take on it is that it teaches well, is applicable and relevant. However, I don’t like all the marketing fuss behind it. But if Oprah endorses it, it’s worth reading 🙂

I’d love to hear drom you if you read/heard of any of those books. And if you have any recommendations, feel free to leave it in the comment section. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

