Wedded bliss

 

8a1b01b70ac72b82f12cd8108ab3e28a

This weekend we celebrated our wedding anniversary.  We are by no means the “perfect couple”, but after almost 10 years of being together, I still have butterflies in my stomach when I think of him.

My writing ritual on our anniversary is about cherishing and celebrating our ups and downs. Here are my random thoughts:

Since we’ve been married…

  • we never went on a honeymoon
  • got pregnant approximately a week after our wedding
  • visited London, Prague, Las Vegas, Savannah, New York
  • was hospitalized when I was 30 weeks pregnant
  • slept in different rooms when I was 20 weeks pregnant because Nicolas had chicken pox
  • bought a stroller and decorated a baby room
  • throughout the pregnancy we didn’t know our baby’s sex
  • took breastfeeding and Lamaze classes
  • had an “eventful” delivery
  • had breast surgery when Paul was 1.5 years old
  • breastfed for over 1 year
  • struggled with Paul’s colics and temper tantrums
  • between the two of us, we lost 6 jobs
  • I took an NLP (neuro-linguistic-programming) class
  • moved to France (from Romania)
  • lived in 3 different apartments/houses
  • changed 3 schools for Paul
  • got my French citizenship
  • went to 5 weddings and 1 funeral
  • went away on a 1-week vacation (just the two of us)
  • received flowers on every anniversary
  • finished (most of our) days saying “I love you”…

Have you made your list? If not, try it! For me, it helped me reframe the context of our relationship and gave a purpose to what we’re trying to build together.

 

2 thoughts on “Wedded bliss

Leave a Reply

