What happened after I meditated for 1 year

Meditation is training for the mind; the same way you train your body when you work out. It’s an amazing weapon of combating the overload of information and high demands of today’s society.

It takes time, patience and discipline. It can be boring, uplifting, annoying and liberating. It shouldn’t be used as a source or relaxation and takes work. 

Needless to mention the numerous studies that bring light to the benefits of meditation, about a year ago I embarked in my own personal experiment. (I documented it in this post)

In short, here’s what I have experienced after meditating for 1 year:

Acceptance

Whether is pain, sadness, hardships – nothing is permanent. By letting go of resistance, you are leaving space for other experiences. I have to admit, this is very difficult and it’s a lifelong process. From an early age we become domesticated to fit in and by the time we become adults, we are armed with a very critical mindset.

Breathing

As long as we live, it’s always with us, it is deeply connected to our lives, to our body. The basic idea of focusing on breathing for enhanced perception of the present moment is to feel the crisp air coming into your nostrils, filling up your lungs and the cool, moist air coming out. You can bring this awareness into every aspect of your life: the breath and kissing, the breath and going into an interview, the breath and shopping, the breath and being in traffic, the breath and cleaning up a mess, etc.

Sleep gets better

Counting sheep is over. Whenever I have moments of agitation at night, I make space in my head by focusing on my breath. I admit, it’s way easier said than done, but with patience, I guarantee you’ll gain the finesse to disperse the abundance of thoughts that keep you up and find some space to rest.

Kindness

Finding pleasure in the most mundane, everyday things. Keeping a gratitude journal. Sending positive vibes to the entire world and keeping an open heart to every opportunity that arrises. Paulo Coelho once said: “We can never return to the past behind us, but we can all move forward. Tomorrow, when the sun will rise, I will look at it as if it was the first time on my life”.

Vision

Without a vision, life is meaningless. This excerpt from Lewis Caroll’s Alice in Wonderland, sums it all up:

“Alice:  Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?
The Cheshire Cat:   That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.
Alice:   I don’t much care where.
The Cheshire Cat:   Then it doesn’t much matter which way you go.
Alice: …So long as I get somewhere.
The Cheshire Cat:  Oh, you’re sure to do that, if only you walk long enough.”

Discipline

Creating a habit to be open, to listen and to let things evolve without judging is life changing . Meditation is definitely NOT the answer to all life’s hardships. Sadness, pain and obstacles still arise and by meditating you won’t be in a relaxed “ommmm” state constantly. When I gained the discipline to accept things as they are, my life suddenly became more hopeful and bearable.

Come back next time to hear about my personal journey! Feel free to share your story, if you feel like it! “)

Watching the waves
Watching the waves

 

Leave a Reply

